• FaceBook
  • Twitter
  • Pin It
  • Linkedin
  • Buffer
  • WhatsApp

16 Years PDP Misrule? See 30 Top Ex-PDP Members Who Are Now Key Members Of APC

The rivalry between the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and Nigeria’s main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has intensified since 2015 after the APC defeated the PDP in the 2015 general elections. But, the hope that Nigerians had with the coming of the APC to the central government seem to have faded with many unhappy with the government over what they say are failed promises.

Analysts say there is no major difference between the APC and the PDP as the ruling party has not made any significant progress since coming into power. The reason for this many say is the fact that majority of the present day members of the APC are former PDP members. In other words, the politicians just have another platform to express their views and advance their interests, not necessarily because they have any ideals, but because they are seeking for power. Below is the list of 30 key members of the APC who are formerly eminent members of the PDP.

1. Senate President Bukola Saraki

PDP governor for 8 years and senator for over 3 years. He joined the APC in 2014.

2. Speaker of the House of Representatives; Honourable Yakubu Dogara

Two-term PDP House of Representatives member. He joined the APC in 2014.

3. Former Vice President; Alhaji Atiku Abubakar

PDP VP for 8 years and presently an APC elder statesman after jumping from one party to the other since 2007.

4. Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba

PDP senator for 12 years. He defected to the APC last year. He is the serving chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission board.

5. Senator Heineken Lokpobiri

Two-term PDP senator from Bayelsa state. He defected to APC after the 2015 elections. He is currently the minister of state for agriculture.

6. Senator Barnabas Gemade

Former national chairman of the PDP and senator from 2011 till date. He joined APC in December 2014.

7. Chief Audu Ogbeh

Former PDP chairman. Currently the minister of agriculture

8. Senator Ita Enang

Two-term PDP senator from Akwa-Ibom. He joined APC before the 2015 elections. He is presently the senior special assistant to the president on the National Assembly (Senate).

9. Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue state

Former Benue state secretary of the PDP. Former national auditor of the PDP and former minister under President Goodluck Jonathan. He joined the APC in December 2014.

10. Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi state

A former two-term PDP senator from Kebbi.

11. Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto state

Former PDP Speaker of the House of Representatives. He joined the APC in 2014.

12. Senator Abdullahi Adamu

Two-term PDP governor of Nasarawa and senator in 2011. He joined the APC in 2014.

13. Senator Danjuma Goje

Two-term PDP governor of Gombe state and senator in 2011. He joined the APC in 2014.

14. Honourable Dakuku Peterside

He was a PDP House of Reps member from Rivers state. He joined the in 2014. He is currently the Director-General of NIMASA.

15. Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso

Two-term PDP governor of Kano state and former minister of defence under President Olusegun Obasanjo. He joined the APC in late 2013.

16. Mr Rotimi Amaechi

Former PDP Speaker of the Rivers state House of Assembly. Two-term PDP governor of Rivers. He joined APC in late 2013. He is currently the minister of transport.

17. Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo state

He was a special adviser to PDP’s President Olusegun Obasanjo. He joined APC in February 2013.

18. Senator George Akume

Two-term PDP governor of Benue state and senator in 2007. Left the party in December 2010 for the APC.

19. Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state

Former FCT minister under President Obasanjo. Left the PDP in 2010.

20. Governor Bello Masari of Katsina state

PDP Speaker of the House of Reps from 2003 to 2007.

21. Senator Adamu Aliero

Two-term PDP governor of Kebbi state and senator in 2007. Later became FCT minister under Late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua.

22. Senator Udoma Udo Udoma

Two-term PDP senator from Akwa-Ibom state. He is now the minister of budget and national planning.

23. Senator Chris Ngige

Anambra state governor under the PDP between 2003 to 2006. He is currently the minister of labour and employment.

24. Senator Andy Uba

Recently defected from the PDP to the APC after serving as a special assistant to former President Obasanjo and PDP senator for 5 years.

25. Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau state

Former Seaker of the Plateau state House of Assembly under the PDP.

26. Senator Joshua Dariye

Former governor of Plateau state for 8 years under the PDP.

27. Engineer Segun Oni

PDP governor for 3 years in Ekiti state. He is currently the APC national vice chairman for South west

28. Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state

PDP senator between 2004 to 2007 representing Oyo central senatorial district.

29. Governor Ibikunle Amosun from Ogun state

PDP senator from 2003 to 2007 representing Ogun central senatorial district

30. Governor Umar Ganduje of Kano state

Two –time deputy governor of Kano state under the PDP.

  • FaceBook
  • Twitter
  • Pin It
  • Linkedin
  • Buffer
  • WhatsApp

Comments are closed.

Welcome Visitor

It's your right to block ads. After all, it's your browser.

But it's also our right to protect the integrity of our published product.

I've disabled my ad blocker. Let's get on with it!